3 Ways Apple Is Monopolizing Your Life with Shared Photo Streams

Posted on November 2, 2012 by Nikhil P Naik

At some point, we all have to agree that Apple is just really good at what they do. In fact, they’re so good at it that they can create and recreate their own versions of other company’s products and services without batting an eyelash. Take the Maps application, for example. Last year, Apple was faithful to the Google Maps for all the devices they launched. This year however, with the exception of the new iPad, almost all of the mobile devices they released came with a different Maps application which apparently was made by no less than Apple.

Aside from ditching Google and creating their own Maps (although we all know how that went for them), the tech giant also managed to create their own photo sharing feature. Yup, it’s just like kicking Facebook, Instagram and Pinterest in the face.

iCloud Photo stream

So far, the iOS 6’s photo sharing capabilities proved to be better than their attempt at lambasting Google Maps with their own failure of a map. It’s a great way of seamlessly bragging about your ‘iPhoneography’ inspired photos to your family and friends and telling them you have an iPhone 5. But without you knowing it, you’ve actually fallen into another trap where they monopolize your life to make sure you’ll never get out of the Apple ecosystem. Here is the evidence:

1) Shared Photo Streams Requires You to Make an Apple ID

While the Apple ID is helpful for all kinds of Apple services like iCloud, Apple Support, Find My iPhone and even iTunes, it still seems weird that the tech giant would require you to enter your ID just to set up a feature like this. Yes, the Apple ID serves as your username for online Apple services so it’s just right that they ask you to make one if you don’t have one. But actually, your Apple ID also serves as an identifier for your Apple gadgets. Remember the massive Apple ID hacking events that happened back in September? A group of hackers announced that they have a file that lists about 12 million Apple IDs. If your newly made Apple ID were to land in a random hacking list… the possibilities are endless.

2) Shared Photo Streams Asks You to Try iCloud

Upon creating a photo stream, you will be presented with the option to enable or disable Public Website. This means that it’s under your discretion whether you want your photos to be displayed in the public website which is—wait for it—iClouds.com. It seems like a good idea, but then again what if you don’t have an iCloud account? Then you have to create one! Oh and it’ll also allow you to show your photos to the public. What will your photo look like? It’ll display your photos in a collage which you did not organize. In short, you have no control over how your photos are shown publicly. Bear with it.

3) Shared Photo Streams Asks You to Have Apple-Hoarding Friends Only

We’re not sure if this is Apple’s method of world domination but including the words: “To join the shared photo stream you must have an Apple ID and iCloud” doesn’t really sound Android or Windows friendly. These words appear in the email message that your contacts receive once you email them a link of your newly created photo streams. So, if you don’t have a lot of friends who use, your chances of getting your photos seen are slim. Our suggestion: Go post them on Instagram or share them on Facebook, we’ll like ‘em for you.


About The Author: Crystal Sanders is a web enthusiast who loves to write anything and everything about Technology. She is currently working as a content writer for CashFor iPhones and Cash For Berrys – sites where you can sell your iPhone and do BlackBerry trade up for cash.

About Nikhil P Naik

Nikhil Naik has finished his graduation in the field of IT and is currently mastering at the University of South Florida. He also loves watching cricket, listening to music and travelling. Twitter Handle - @buzz_nikhil.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Also Read: 3 Ways Apple Is Monopolizing Your Life with Shared Photo Streams […]

Leave a Comment

*